Hodson Bay Getaway

We traveled to Athlone for two nights as last year I won a mini break with Today FM. Now I’ve never won a competition before let alone one for a break away so I didn’t really know what to expect. We were so spoiled by the Hodson Bay Hotel that I didn’t want to go home in the end.

The day we arrived the staff took our details and planned everything for us which included dinner and a day in their award winning spa. I couldn’t begin to tell you how nice and obliging the staff were- especially Roisin and Charlee. Our room was overlooking the lake and had a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived.


We had a stroll around the lake and visited some of the boats in the harbour. We may become boat people after seeing some of those beauties. I’ve always wanted a barge, my favorite show as a baby was Rosie and Jim, so maybe that explains it ha!

The spa day was amazing, we were treated to a full facial and massage, using Phytomer products. I loved these products and even Eoin remarked how well his skin felt afterwards. My therapist Charlee, was a fountain of knowledge with the best masseuse skills I’ve ever come across. We spent an hour in the Thermal Suite before our treatments and it was the first time I’d properly switched off in a long time. I left feeling like a million dollars and we’ve come to the conclusion that we are definitely spa people. Afterwards Eoin wanted to go for a swim so I popped a hairmask on from The Body Shop in visited the sauna for a while. The pool was very busy with families* but I could’ve stayed there for days. I slept like a baby that night, I’m putting more days like this into the diary.


We spent the best part of three days eating, drinking and feeling zero guilt about it! It was such a treat but it is back to eating well now, or trying to at least. Thank you to the lovely staff at the Hodson Bay and TodayFm for a much needed getaway! 

ebony 

X

*A great hotel if you have a young family, swimming, water sports and even a Viking boat trip to Athlone castle. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

